Forum

Clevo PS650RS, Alie...

Notifications
Clear all

Clevo PS650RS, Alienware 15 R3, or MSI GT62VR for School?  

RSS
ShatteredAwe
(@shatteredawe)

Hello. I'm currently a University student and I'm trying to pick a gaming laptop that can give me great performance, but that I can still take to class every day. My life is quite ill-structured, so no I don't have space/time for a desktop. By the way, I live in Canada, so my budget and each of these laptops are around $2,000 CDN.

The 3 models that I've sort of landed on are the Clevo PS650RS (the EUROCOM SKY MX5 R2 to be exact), the Alienware 15 R3 (1070) and the MSI GT62VR. Out of all of these, I personally prefer the Clevo in terms of looks (I'm too old for a lot of these 'gamer' designs), but I'm concerned about what I read about the thermals (I see anywhere from a maximum of 70c to maximum of 90c while gaming regularly. My Current laptop is a MSI GT70 20c and it never gets higher than a low 80c while gaming). I'm also concerned about the fan noise, and the hinges for the screen look very off/weak. For someone who's going to be moving around a lot, it does concern me. As well, the battery life reports are really inconsistent. I've seen from 2.5 hours to 325 minutes. I need something that can give me at least 4 hours because of my classes. It also only comes with 1 year of warranty, and extra warranty is expensive.

There's also the Alienware that I'm considering. My biggest reason for even including it is it's battery life, which hits my requirements nicely. So my biggest drawbacks from it are the fact that it's overpriced (The 1070 model starts at 2400$), that it looks hard to/impossible to upgrade, and that extended warranty is expensive (it comes with 1 year warranty though).